top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelsey O'Leary

That One All Consuming Assignment

Hello, this is a message to you and to myself to turn around my overly negative view of how last week went, because it really wasn’t all that bad. I simply had one of those assignments, that you know is coming, and you feel like you kind of don’t know what you are doing for it, and then you ask classmates for advice and they also don’t know, so even though you start a week before its due you don’t turn it in until the last day, and you still are a little unhappy with the final product, but its done now and you just hope for the best.


Needless to say, every thought I had last week feels like it was about this negative experience I had with one paper (and being realistic that paper will never matter even next semester). So, I am here to recap what I actually did last week that I enjoyed.


To start the week off strong, it snowed (I know I didn’t do this, but it made an impact!) This was the first real snow here and while I know it will last for an excessive number of months after this, I do not care. I did have to go out and cheer for a game in the thick of it, but it made getting home and being cozy with blankets and Christmas music starting so much better. That’s the other news, I finally feel like I am ready for Christmas music (I love it, but it gets old if I listen too early). This also brings me to another point of sometimes throwing in Christmas trap music, I highly recommend giving it a listen, here’s a playlist I like from Spotify!

Speaking of, Spotify Wrapped came out on Wednesday which is always fun, and sometimes you just find out you or your friends have weird music taste. My highlights were listening to 1,350 artists, and Noah Kahan being my favorite (naturally, I mean I did wait a year for the concert). I listened to 46,117 minutes of music, my top genre was singer-songwriter and my top song was Last Call by Will Linley (actually very surprised Noah Kahan’s Stick Season was not in the top 5.


Thursday is where the weekend started because, after practice, I celebrated one of my best friends' bachelorette party!! She got married this past weekend, so we got to celebrate her with dinner at XO Taco! We got all of the essentials: the nacho fries, chips and salsa, tacos and burritos!

Then Friday I got up and went to Canada! (remember when I said I was traveling a lot) My boyfriend's fraternity formal was held up in Toronto! We got there Friday and had an amazing Chinese Chuan’r at Chat Bar before the event! It was an insane drive because traffic turned a four-hour drive into an almost 5-hour drive (not counting our stop for Chick-fil-A). Regardless it was still a fun night!!

Saturday morning, we had an awesome brunch at Evviva. Will anyone be shocked if I say I got chicken and waffles again? The chicken and waffles here came with BBQ sauce, coleslaw and jalapenos. Then my boyfriend and I walked around the aquarium and the city a bit. We went to get Japanese BBQ at Gyu-Kaku and needless to say, I was stuffed (the pictures arent even half the food!)

Sunday (aka today because as this shows I had little time last week and normally write these on Monday) we got up and went with the friends we drove with to get some brunch before driving back home. I got a simple chicken club and it came with seasoned breakfast potatoes that were super crispy. It was certainly an easier drive home, despite a good bit of rain, and then when I got home, I had to have a quick turn around and head to chapter. It was paper plate awards for the seniors graduating early, which includes my big :( But we picked a great award for her being“most likely to know more about Taylor Swift than you")

Now we are here, I cleaned my room (very therapeutic), showered and am now able to write this and as mentioned in the beginning be cozy with a blanket and music! It really is convenient that I like writing these because it makes the work feel less like work (hey I wrote about that here I think). Even though that essay last week seemed so awful, I think I can see it wasn’t everything. It was an off assignment, that really won't mean much in the long run.


The weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas are crazy, this is a time I am so happy this assignment became something I enjoy so much. Not only have I enjoyed so many more little things this past semester, I have been able to realize some negative things that don’t need to take up so much space in my mind and I have found some new things that looking back on.


~Kelsey


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page