top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelsey O'Leary

The Back and Forth of It All

I’m back home, not actually home even though that would be my wish for this Thanksgiving week (basically I am mad I won’t be stuffing myself with my mom's stuffing in two days). But I will still see my family as we are all driving to the Catskill’s to stay in airstreams for Thanksgiving!

** If you don’t know, now you know what they are**


As we all might remember (not really because how is anyone reading this supposed to know all my thoughts), I love to travel. Like love it so much it was part of my college essay topic. Regardless of that, it can get a little overwhelming still.


Basically, starting last Friday and up until the end of the year, my next few weeks look a little something like this: to Tennessee then home to Syracuse, to the Catskills then home to Syracuse, to Canada then home to Syracuse, FINALS week, then home to PA, back to Tennessee then home to PA, Christmas, and then back to Syracuse, preseason and possibly back home for New Years, then back to Syracuse, and then off to Florida all to come back to spring semester. But I’ll keep it simple here, and update you on my amazing perfect weekend hanging out with my sister!

I got there Friday morning (and this time the only person to blame for the 4 am wakeup call was myself) but my sister surprised me at the airport and then we got Raising Cane's because I’ve never had it before (10/10, I am not into sauces and I made it to a second cup of sauce). Then, she treated me and made penne ala vodka (but with shells pasta; shells ala vodka doesn’t have the same ring) and we hung out with her friends all night who I haven’t seen in about a year! (I think I forgot to mention, that I have never been to visit her, and she graduates in DECEMBER, so we had to do everything)

Saturday was game day, and let me tell you I am a sucker for a good game day (this was my first time ever spectating too, so being at THE Tennessee-Georgia game was the best thing ever to me!) We went all out, starting with a true brunch of Biscuits with chocolate gravy, bacon and fried potatoes. Then we walked all of campus (for a second time because we walked about 4 miles to tour it on Friday), and we saw all of the tailgates happening and got free Liquid IV, Dunkin’ coffee samples and Red Bull. We got to the game early to find our seats (nosebleeds but I just was happy to see it all) and then by the fourth quarter I could go down to the student section and hang out with my sister and her friends closer to the field (and closed to the Cheerleaders, I was obsessed of course!)

Sunday, we took a chill day to get brunch (Chicken and Waffles for me naturally) then we walked around the UT Gardens with Starbucks in hand (hot mochas because they were out of peppermint, and it was “cold” aka 50 degrees. . . it’s 30 here in Cuse). We both had some work to get done and then we made some salads with chicken cutlets for dinner and went to hang out with her friends some more!

Monday was another early morning (only 6:30 am this time though) so I got to the airport and ate my last quarter of a waffle with a tender I saved (always travel with your own food!). Then it was a good 40-minute flight before a 4-hour layover (the earlier flight was oversold, so I booked it across Charlotte airport for nothing). Luckily, I stayed in the lounge (thanks Dad :)) got some free food and drinks and got some more work done (I wanted to take today fully off, except for this, but I like writing this). Then I finally got home last night, ordered myself some Strong Hearts (Sweet Sassy Molassy Sandwich, and got the second to last piece of their stretch bread!) and now I am off to get my nails done (it has been over a month…).

I usually end with some type of message, I usually need to just recap what made all the things good, but just these experiences made it good. I loved every second visiting my sister, it was so much more needed than I had thought. Family can be tricky at the holidays, so I feel grateful to be so so close to my parents and sister. They keep me going and can never fail to make my day, week, month, year, etc. They don’t have to do anything special; we just appreciate each other and know we are always going to be there for anything!


Happy Thanksgiving to anyone who comes across this and sees it, among all my crazy back and forth, I have my family and they have me too, and if you see this I am here for you too, hopefully in some way helping you appreciate the big, the small and every little thing in between!

~ Kelsey

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page